Category: Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Waiting on Wednesday: A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnisA Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on October 6, 2015
Pages: 384
Goodreads

Grace Mae knows madness.

She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.

In this beautifully twisted historical thriller, Mindy McGinnis, acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, explores the fine line between sanity and insanity, good and evil—and the madness that exists in all of us.

New WoW

A historical thriller? A Boston insane asylum? Criminal psychology? Yes, please!

I don’t think I have to say much about this upcoming fall release from Mindy McGinnis, who wrote Not a Drop to Drink–a book I loved! I don’t always see really obvious spiritual themes in every book I read, but her post-apocalyptic survival story set in a future world without water reflected several deep and meaningful dimensions that I thought were absolutely stunning.

That being said, I have high hopes for this historical title featuring a provocative premise coming to us from Katherine Tegen books this Fall. The cover is gorgeous and I think you could have an excellent discussion over a cup of coffee about the different elements of the cover. I can’t wait to dive into this one–my hunch is that it reflects thought-provoking aspects the same way Not a Drop to Drink does.

Don’t you love it when an author of a book you loved writes another story in one of your favorite genres?!?

Don’t you feel as if you’ve just arrived at a fabulous party?!!

flailing

You can tell I’m very excited about reading A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis–what are you waiting on this Wednesday?

What Katie Read

Waiting on Wednesday for Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

Waiting on Wednesday for Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day GeorgeSilver in the Blood by Jessica Day George
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on July 7th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 358
Goodreads

A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

New WoW1890s New York City. A mysterious Romanian family. Adventure. A Prophecy. Bloomsbury is bringing us a new Paranormal YA this July by Jessica Day George!

I only recently discovered that this YA title (look at that intriguing cover!) was being published by Bloomsbury in July. The author actually went to Romania to undertake research for her book, so that makes it even more appealing. I love when I read about authors traveling to the country in which their books are set for research. I think it adds a richer dimension to the story, and that shows.

I adore books set in the Victorian era, fantasy, and Eastern Europe, so it’s no surprise that I’m excited about this book. On GoodReads, Sandie from Teen Lit Rocks has stated that this would be an excellent title for MG readers moving towards YA. Since I love MG and YA equally, and come into contact with both kinds of readers, I’m looking forward to discovering a new book that I can recommend to those readers who are on the border between these two camps.

I don’t think I need to say much about how enchanting that cover is! There’s a place on my shelf for Silver in the Blood and I look forward to putting it there soon.

What are you waiting on Wednesday for this week?

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, in which we share those upcoming releases we are most excited about!

What Katie Read

Waiting on Wednesday: Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead

Waiting on Wednesday: Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca SteadGoodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead
Published by Wendy Lamb Books on August 4th 2015
Genres: Middle Grade, Realistic
Pages: 304
Goodreads

This brilliant novel by Newbery Medal winner Rebecca Stead explores multiple perspectives on the bonds and limits of friendship. Bridge is an accident survivor who's wondering why she's still alive. Emily has new curves and an almost-boyfriend who wants a certain kind of picture. Tabitha sees through everybody's games--or so she tells the world. The three girls are best friends with one rule: No fighting. Can it get them through seventh grade?     This year everything is different for Sherm Russo as he gets to know Bridge Barsamian. What does it mean to fall for a girl--as a friend? On Valentine's Day, an unnamed high school girl struggles with a betrayal. How long can she hide in plain sight? Each memorable character navigates the challenges of love and change in this captivating novel.

Newbery Winning Author REBECCA STEAD has a new book coming out in August! It’s realistic, set in New York City, and harbors a beautiful cover. Just look at it!

New WoW

You may know that When You Reach Me is one of my favorite books of all times–it’s both historical and fantasy–two of my favorite genres wrapped up into one.  and Liar and Spy is another beautiful story Stead wrote after her Newbery winning When You Reach Me.

Yes, When You Reach Me was stunning with its Brooklyn setting, its mystery, and its references to A Wrinkle in Time. Liar and Spy sports a twelve year spy who drinks coffee and is named Safer. He and Georges, a newcomer to the Brooklyn apartment building, participate in various spy activities and you’ll never guess what happens next. Trust me, if you haven’t read either of these gems, you must skip off to the library at once and procure them!

It’s safe to say that Rebecca Stead is one of my favorite Middle Grade authors and I will read anything she writes. When I found out she had a book releasing in August, I just about jumped out of my chair.

flailing

I’m beyond excited for Goodbye Stranger and look forward to reading it in the near future!

What are you waiting on Wednesday for this week?

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, in which we share those upcoming releases we are most excited about!

 

What Katie Read
%d bloggers like this: