Falling in love with books finalIt’s Day 4 of Falling in Love with Books and today the fabulous Rachel from Beauty and the Bookshelf is sharing her love of GLASS HOUSES, the first book in the Morganville Vampire Series. I’m not familiar with these books, so I’m excited for what Rachel has to say about this series. Happy Monday, everyone!

Hello, all! And a big thanks to Katie for having me here today as part of her super school Valentine’s Day feature Falling in Love With Books!

Tis the season for cute puppy cards and Sweetheart candies, Hallmark movies and vases filled with red roses. I don’t know about you, but I’ll probably be spending my Valentine’s Day just like how I spent New Year’s (except no Walking Dead marathon and no fever): with a book! (Oh, I should plan this out. Make reservations. What book will I read?!) And since Valentine’s Day is about love and, of course, books, I’m going to tell you all about one of my favorite series in the history of ever, and hopefully, you’ll want to read it.

Ladies and gentlemen, let me introduce you to the one and only Morganville Vampires series.

Yes, yes, it is a FIFTEEN BOOK series, but do not fret. Fifteen is actually not enough. And you’re going to see why in a bit, but first, here’s what the first book (Glass Houses) is all about.

College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don’t show many signs of life, but they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood. Will she be able to face the town’s terror or will she drown like everyone else? 

And now, a poem.

Roses are red,
Violets are blue,
Blood is sweet,
And therefore, so are you.

(Just kidding.)

Here’s my shoddy explanation for why you should read Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampires series, told in ABCs.

A is for Amelie, who is the boss of all the vampires and keeps Morganville running. But don’t mess with her. She’ll probably kill you.

B is for blood, which is good for drinking and something you may find yourself covered in on occasion if you’re a Morganville resident.

C is for Claire Danvers, the main protagonist who gets into all sorts of trouble all the time but is super smart and kickass.

D is for dark, as in, if you’re a human don’t go outside when it’s dark because then you’re basically a walking meal.

E is for Eve Rosser: resident goth, barista, and overall kicker of asses (and who totally has a thing for Michael).

F is for food, like tacos and spaghetti, two regular meals consumed at the Glass house (and coffee, of course).

G is for Glass, Michael: aka, total rock star god who’s one of four parts of the Morganville gang (and isn’t really human or a vampire) (and who totally has a thing for Eve).

H is for home, which is exactly what this series feels like.

I is for imperfections, which this series has, but I don’t really care.

J is for jokes, which there a lot of–especially between Shane and Eve–and they are FANGTASTIC (and much better than my pun).

K is for killing and kissing, which both happen a lot, actually.

L is for love, like, I love this series so much I pretty much can’t even.

M is for Myrnin, a crazy (literally) yet ridiculously intelligent mad scientist-esque, quirky vampire who wears bunny slippers, Hawaiian shirts, and has a pet spider (among other things).

N is for no one listens to anything anyone says.

O is for Oliver, someone you should hate but can’t help loving, and who’s basically a hippie.

P is for Protectors, as in, if you don’t have one, you’re free game, Blood Bank.

Q is for Queen Bitch, aka Monica Morrell, aka Mega Bitch Number One.

R is for romance, which is very, very good (and maybe even steamy).

S is for SHANE COLLINS. Enough said. (But seriously, SHANE COLLINS.)

T is for trouble, something you are sure to run into at least once a day in Morganville.

U is for underrated, which this series vastly is.

V is for vampires, duh.

W is for web series, which part of the series was turned into. (But please don’t judge the books on the web series. Please.)

X is for XYZ everything in case a vampire (or some pesky human) gets into it.

Y is for you, because you should be reading this series and because I said so.

Z is for zooming on over to the store or library and starting this series.

Now you know your Morganville ABCs, now you can read the boooks.

Before I wrap this up, just one more itsy, bitsy little thing. This series. It’s not just a series to me. It feels like a second home, you know? Like, I could be driving and I can so easily picture Claire, Shane, Michael, and Eve just hanging out on the sidewalk, laughing, like they’re really, seriously, actually there. This series definitely has its imperfections and inconsistencies and some ups and downs, but there’s something about it that’s just extra special. I know the characters, and they can do something and I can nod along like, “Yeah, that’s totally something that character would do!” These characters and Morganville are so real, and I love their adventures and stories so, so much. I hope you will, too.

Welcome to Morganville. You’ll never want to leave.

Thank you, Rachel, for introducing us to a series you’ve fallen in love with. I’m curious if others are familiar with this series, and have read Glass Houses? Wow–15 books!! I’m reminded of how much I loved series when I was a young reader…and I still do. I’m so happy Rachel visited the blog for this holiday feature–go check out her blog for more reviews!

Tomorrow Selah from A Bibliophile’s Style is sharing a book that all you Jane Austen fans won’t want to miss. See you on Tuesday for Day 5 of Falling in Love with Books! 

What Katie Read

Please share your thoughts!