A Middle Grade Marvel: ALL RISE FOR THE HONORABLE PERRY T. COOK

Posted May 16, 2016 by What Katie Read in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

A Middle Grade Marvel: ALL RISE FOR THE HONORABLE PERRY T. COOKAll Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook by Leslie Connor
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on March 1st 2016
Genres: Middle Grade, Realistic
Pages: 400
Goodreads
five-stars

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.
Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth—and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.
When Perry moves to the “outside” world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Don’t let this book escape your grasp!

http://bestanimations.com/Books/Books.html
http://bestanimations.com/Books/Books.html

What I Loved

I loved PERRY T. COOK! What a wonderful, kind, compassionate, and creative eleven year old. I had no idea just how much I would adore this book and Perry’s journey. When the book opens, Perry has spent the first eleven years of his life in the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility where his mother is serving a sentence (for something that Perry knows a little bit about, but not all the details have been revealed to him). At both the correctional facility and out in the wider world where he attends school, Perry brightens the lives of those around him. Perry approaches people by believing there is good within him, primarily because of the kindness with which he has been raised in the prison. Over those eleven years, Perry has become close friends with many of the inmates, and learned a lot about their stories. He recognizes that there are good choices and bad ones to be made, but it seems that Perry is able to distinguish between the idea that people can do bad things and that people are always one way or another. Perry is a strong character, and he gracefully navigates difficulty throughout the story.

Illuminations of Spirituality

There is a definite social justice aspect to this book in that the protagonist (and those close to him) want to see justice for those who have been treated unjustly (particularly within the prison system). Though there may not be concrete actions that Perry can take for all those within Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility, telling their stories is one way he gives a voice to their lives.

The way that Perry sees other people, especially those whom he knows within the prison, brings up another aspect of the spiritual life. When we look at people, do we only see their actions? Do we only see their bad choices? Or can we take the time to look beyond, to the authentic person inside, to the person he/she is becoming? This is an aspect of spirituality that the narrative brought up to me, because, like Perry, we, the reader, also get to know the inmates of Blue River. And I think I can safely say that we also come to care about them.

Who Should Read This Book

Readers in 3rd grade and up would appreciate this fun and thought-provoking title, and anyone who loves Middle Grade with a social justice aspect would do well to pick it up. After reading Perry’s story, I’m planning to look up other books by Leslie Connor, and my hopes are high for future books.

You readers know: When you read a good novel that makes you look at people differently and perhaps with a little more empathy, you can safely say that such a story is doing something wonderful. This is an important story in that it just may change your thinking about people in correctional facilities.

These people have stories worth telling. May Perry T. Cook teach us all a little something!

**Thank you, Katherine Tegen Books, for allowing me to read and review an ARC of this title.**

five-stars

Kate DiCamillo Returns: RAYMIE NIGHTINGALE

Kate DiCamillo Returns: RAYMIE NIGHTINGALE

It’s high time I shared my thoughts with you about the new Kate DiCamillo book. Let me say this—when I heard a new book by Kate was coming out, my level of excitement spiked! You know that I adore her books, including THE MIRACULOUS JOURNEY OF EDWARD TULANE, THE MAGICIAN’S ELEPHANT, and THE TALE OF […]

Posted May 12, 2016 by What Katie Read in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

Read-a-thon Alert!! #BoutofBooks 16: May 9th-15th

Read-a-thon Alert!! #BoutofBooks 16: May 9th-15th

HEY THERE! I know I’ve been MIA lately because of: busy School Librarian job, moving, going to Library School at the same time, moving, and trying to remain sane! But here I am, and I have been reading loads of books. The challenge is keeping up with the blog, but I’ve got some wonderful posts […]

#TopTenTuesday: Ten Books I Love and Haven’t Talked about In Awhile…

#TopTenTuesday: Ten Books I Love and Haven’t Talked about In Awhile…

It’s the day to discuss the books we all adore but just haven’t chatted about enough lately…this isn’t hard to do and I hope you enjoy my post on ten books that are close to my heart…and now…not far from my mind. This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and Bookish—check out their blog […]

Posted March 22, 2016 by What Katie Read in Memes, Top Ten Tuesday / 4 Comments

A Dream Come True: Kate Morton Visits BOSTON!!

A Dream Come True: Kate Morton Visits BOSTON!!

I know I’m a bit late on telling you about this BUT: December 2015 was an epic month because….THE KATE MORTON BOOK SIGNING IN BOSTON!! Can you believe that at the end of last year I heard Kate Morton speak, spoke to her, and had four of my books signed!?!?! It was an epic evening—Kate’s […]

Posted March 21, 2016 by What Katie Read in Author Events / 5 Comments

#TopTenTuesday: Top Ten Books on My Spring TBR

#TopTenTuesday: Top Ten Books on My Spring TBR

After my jaunt to ALA Midwinter here in Boston, you can imagine I acquired quite a few books publishing in Spring. In other words: I have a rich variety of books to read this spring…but that doesn’t mean I’m not reading backlist titles. Without further ado, here is a shot of my Top Ten Reads […]

Posted March 15, 2016 by What Katie Read in Memes, Top Ten Tuesday / 1 Comment

Portals of History: ONCE WAS A TIME (2016) by Leila Sales

Portals of History: ONCE WAS A TIME (2016) by Leila Sales

Time travel! England during WWII! Tea! A British protagonist! Two bosom friends…all these elements and more are what drew me to read Leila Sales’ new Middle Grade book, ONCE WAS A TIME. The Book: Charlotte and Kitty are the two friends we focus on in the opening pages of the narrative, and it’s Charlotte’s father […]

Posted March 15, 2016 by What Katie Read in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Transatlantic Book Project: HARRY POTTER AND THE PHILOSOPHER’S STONE

Transatlantic Book Project: HARRY POTTER AND THE PHILOSOPHER’S STONE

When I heard about a project involving reading a book, making notes in it, and then passing it along to another blogger (after receiving it from several bloggers before me), I jumped at the chance to participate! I was so happy when Alicia at A KERNEL OF NONSENSE contacted me about the project. Alicia and […]

Posted March 1, 2016 by What Katie Read in blogger events / 5 Comments

ARC Review: THE KEY TO EXTRAORDINARY by Natalie Lloyd

ARC Review: THE KEY TO EXTRAORDINARY by Natalie Lloyd

First of all, this amazing book is out today and if you haven’t preordered a copy, you better run down to the bookstore ASAP and purchase one! I also have a Twitter giveaway going on for an ARC of the book as well! “IT IS A KNOWN FACT THAT THE MOST EXTRAORDINARY MOMENTS IN A […]

Posted February 23, 2016 by What Katie Read in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

#loveathon Mini Challenge #4: Tea Break with Epic Reads!!

#loveathon Mini Challenge #4: Tea Break with Epic Reads!!

It’s time for a tea break! In this post, you’ll share which fictional character, book blogger OR BookTuber OR Bookstagrammer, and author you’d want to have a tea party with and why. Feel free to go above and beyond by including more details about your dream tea party! TEA TIME WITH EPIC READS: MARGOT & […]

Posted February 21, 2016 by What Katie Read in blogger events, loveathon / 8 Comments